ArchivesSpace Public Interface

Puryear Family collection Edit

Summary

Component Unique Identifier
MSS 016.027
Level of Description
Series
Language
English

Dates

  • 1850-1965 (Creation)

Extents

  • .42 Linear Feet (Whole)
    Two of seven folders in a document box measuring 17.5 inches x 11.5 inches x 3 inches.

Subjects

Notes

  • Abstract

    Materials pertaining to the Puryear family, owners of the Puryear's Mill that was located on Cedar Creek.

  • Immediate Source of Acquisition

    Hilda Puryear Phillips

  • Physical Description

    Fair to poor

  • Preferred Citation

    Puryear Family collection, Small Collections, Heritage Room, Athens-Clarke County Library

  • Biographical / Historical

    Puryear’s Mill operated until the 1940s. The water wheel from the mill was later moved to the site of the Charlie Williams Pinecrest Lodge.

  • Scope and Contents

    Among the documents are a photograph of the Puryear house; the wills of W. W. Puryear and Rebekah Dougherty and other legal documents pertaining to the Puryear estate; a stock certificate for Athens General Hospital; a list of births and deaths (partially worn and illegible), a postcard featuring the Tuckston Methodist Church from the Tuckston Senior Citizens Club; correspondence; and newspaper clippings. Several documents are fragile and have been placed in mylar sheets; they are found in the second folder. Some of the materials are undated or difficult to decipher.

Instances

  • Type
    Text
    Container 1 Type
    Box
    Container 1 Indicator
    3
    Container 2 Type
    Folder
    Container 2 Indicator
    29, 39

Components